## COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT STANDARDS AND TRAINING

## **COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES**

## **JANUARY 8, 2015**

The meeting of the Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training was called to order at 10:04 A.M. Commission members present:

Chairman Bob Harrison Lt. Bobby Walraven Ms. Jami Cook Dr. James Golden Sheriff Doc Holladay Chief Percy Wilburn Mr. Barney Reeves

Commissioners absent:

Mr. Alonza Jiles Mr. Cecil Greene

**Others Present:** 

**Director Ken Jones** Brian Marshall, Deputy Director, Standards Fred Weatherspoon, Deputy Director, Training Julie Chavis, Asst. Attorney General J. P. French, Attorney General's Office Sue Albritton, Commission Secretary William Conklin Cindy Conklin Danny Hallett, Ashdown PD James Brock, Jackson County SO Lee Short, Attorney **Chris Adkins** Wade Hodge, Hearing Officer A.J. Gary, Conway PD John Zanin, Conway PD Mike Kennedy, ASP

Commission Meeting Minutes January 8, 2015 Page 2

A motion to accept the minutes of the October 2014 meeting was made by Commissioner Wilburn and seconded by Commissioner Walraven. The vote was unanimous.

Item I: Item one was a vote to approve the Board and Commission Expenses. Commissioner Holladay made the motion to approve the Commission Expenses. Commissioner Golden seconded and was approved unanimously.

Item II: Item two was to elect a new Vice Chairman to replace retired Sheriff Butch Morris. Commissioner Walraven made the motion to elect Commissioner Percy Wilburn. Commissioner Reeves seconded and moved to close nomination. The vote was unanimous.

Item III: Item three was a request from the Jericho Police Department for decertification of former Officer James Strickland. A motion was made to go forward with decertification by Commissioner Walraven and seconded by Commissioner Holladay. Motion carried.

Item IV: Item four was a request from the Stone County Sheriff's Office for decertification of former Deputy William Russell. A motion was made by Commissioner Holladay to go forward with decertification and was seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. The vote was unanimous.

Item V: Item five was a request for decertification from the Hot Springs Police Department for former Officer Gary Miller, Jr. A motion to go forward was made by Commissioner Wilburn and seconded by Commissioner Holladay. The vote was unanimous.

Item VI: Item six was a request for decertification of former Officer Mark Winchester by the Mayflower Police Department. A motion was made to go forward by Commissioner Reeves and seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. Motion passed with Commissioner Holladay recusing.

Item VII: Item seven was a request from the Crittenden County Sheriff's Office for decertification of former Deputy Lee Johnson. A motion to go forward was made by Commissioner Wilburn and Seconded by Commissioner Holladay. Motion passed unanimously.

Item VIII: Item eight was a request from the Ft. Smith Police Department for decertification of former Officer Don Paul Bales. A motion to go forward with decertification was made by Commissioner Holladay and seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. Motion passed.

Item IX: Item nine was a request from the Arkansas State Police for decertification of former Trooper Chad Conder. A motion not to forward with decertification was made by Commissioner Walraven and

Commission Meeting Minutes January 8, 2015 Page 3

seconded by Commissioner Reeves. Motion passed with two opposing, and Commissioner Cook recusing from the vote.

Item X: Item ten was a request from the Pulaski County Sheriff's Office for decertification of former Deputy Kevin White. Commissioner Wilbur made a motion to go forward with decertification and was seconded by Commissioner Walraven. Motion passed with Commissioner Holladay recusing.

Item XI: Item eleven was a request from the Carroll County Sheriff's Office for decertification of former Deputy Joel Hand. A motion to go forward was made by Commissioner Wilburn and seconded by Commissioner Holladay. Motion passed.

Item XII: Item twelve was a request from William Conklin to accept his pardon and waive Regulation 1002 3(d) and allow him to become a certified police officer. A motion not to grant the request was made by Commissioner Wilburn and seconded by Commissioner Walraven. Motion passed unanimously.

Item XIII: Item thirteen was a request from the Mayflower Police Department for decertification of former Officer Jeremy Hanson. A motion to go forward was made by Commissioner Holladay and seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. Motion passed.

Item XIV: Item fourteen was a request from the Conway Police Department for decertification of former officer Jason Cameron. A motion to go forward was made by Commissioner Holladay and seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. Motion passed.

Item XV: Item fifteen was a request for decertification from the White Hall Police Department for decertification of former Officer Christopher Drye. A motion was made by Commissioner Wilburn to go forward and was seconded by Commissioner Walraven. Motion passed.

Item XVI: Item sixteen was a request from the Jackson County Sheriff's Office to rescind a motion made by the Commission at the April 2014 meeting in regard to Deputy Stephen L. McCullar. After reviewing the matter a motion was made by Commissioner Walraven and seconded by Commissioner Reeves to rescind the original vote and not go forward with decertification. Commission meeting was adjourned at 10:45.

At the conclusion of an executive meeting the Commission was called back to order for a regular session. Commissioner Holladay made a motion to recommend to Governor Elect Hutchinson, Commissioner Jami Cook be named Director of the Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and

Commission Meeting Minutes January 8, 2015 Page 4

Training, to replace retiring Director Ken Jones. This was seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. The vote was unanimous.