COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT STANDARDS AND TRAINING

COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

APRIL 10, 2014

ARKANSAS LAW ENFORCEMENT TRAINING ACADEMY

Vice Chairman Butch Morris called the meeting to order at 10:00 A. M. Commissioners present:

Sheriff Butch Morris Lt. Bobby Walraven Ms. Jami Cook Dr. James Golden Mr. Alonza Jiles Chief Percy Wilburn Sheriff Doc Holladay

Commissioners absent:

Chief Bob Harrison Mr. Barney Reeves Mr. Cecil Greene

Others in attendance:

Director Ken Jones

Deputy Director Brian Marshall Deputy Director Fred Weatherspoon Meredith Rebsamen, AG's Office J. P. French, AG's Office Larry Robinson, Governor's Office Sue Albritton, Comm. Secretary Bernie Mosley, ALETA Lee Short, Attorney James Law Firm Clayton Edwards, AR Jail Standards Assn. Rick Newton, ASP Fred McGraw, Little River County Lt. Vena Cupp, Crawford County Randall Denzer, Washington County David Lucas, Jackson Co. Sheriff Marty Brazell, Miller County Danny Hickman, Director Jail Standards Wade Hodge, Hearing Officer Trish Hendrix, Court Reporter Steve Harrelson, Attorney Maxie Thomas, UAPB Police Department Commission Meeting Minutes April 10, 2014 Page 2

Darnell Henderson, UAPB Police Dept. Deandre Brown, Texarkana Sgt. J. Abbott, Pulaski County SO

Vice Chairman Morris called the meeting to order at 10:00 A. M. The minutes of the last two meetings were approved by a motion by Commissioner Holladay and seconded by Commissioner Walraven. The vote of acceptance was unanimous.

ITEM I: A vote to accept the Board and Commission Expenses (Act 1211 of 1995) was passed with a motion by Commissioner Wilburn and seconded by Commissioner Golden.

ITEM II: Item two was a request to go forward with decertification of former Officer Arthur McDaniel from the Little Rock Police Department, who has begun to receive Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder Medical Retirement through the Arkansas Local Police and Fire Retirement System. Commissioner Wilburn made the motion not to go forward with decertification and the motion was seconded by Commissioner Cook. The motion passed with one in opposition.

ITEM III: The Clark County Sheriff's Office was asking for an extension of time in order that Ricky Loy could finish his basic training at the academy. Mr. Loy had to drop out due to an injury he received while in training at the academy. A motion by Commissioner Walraven to grant the extension of twenty days in order that Loy could complete his training was seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. The vote was unanimous.

ITEM IV: Item four was a request from the Little Rock Police Department for decertification of former Officer John S. Melton. A motion to go forward with decertification was made by Commissioner Holladay and seconded by Commissioner Wilbur. Motion carried.

ITEM V: Item five was a request from the Jackson County Sheriff's Office requesting decertification of former Deputy Stephen McCullar. A motion to go forward with decertification was made by Commissioner Walraven and seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. The motion carried.

ITEM VI: Item six was a request from the Benton County Sheriff's Office for decertification of former Deputy Tou Chao Vang. A motion to go forward with decertification was made by Commissioner Wilburn and seconded by Commissioner Holladay. Motion carried.

ITEM VII: Item seven was a request from the Cleveland County Sheriff's Office for decertification of former Deputy Michael Kee. A motion was made to go forward but failed in a roll called vote after a discussion of the matter.

ITEM VIII: Item eight was a request from the Cabot Police Department for decertification of former Officer Joshua Bayliss. A motion to go forward by Commissioner Wilburn was seconded by Commissioner Holladay and passed unanimously.

Commission Meeting Minutes April 10, 2014 Page 3

ITEM IX: Item nine was from the Conway Police Department for decertification of former Officer Bart Dale Puckett. A motion made by Commissioner Cook was seconded by Commissioner Holladay and passed unanimously

ITEM X: Item ten was a request from the Lead Hill Police Department for decertification of former Chief of Police Andrew Barnes. A motion to go forward with decertification was made by Commissioner Wilburn and seconded by Commissioner Jiles. The motion carried.

ITEM XI: Item eleven was a request from the Turrell Police Department for decertification of former Officer Cordell Campbell. A motion was made by Commissioner Holladay and seconded by Commissioner Wilburn to go forward with decertification. The motion carried.

ITEM XII: Item twelve was a request by the Benton Police Department for decertification of former Officer Monte Hodge. A motion was made by Commissioner Wilburn to go forward with decertification and was seconded by Commissioner Holladay. Motion carried.

ITEM XIII: Item thirteen was a request from the Hardy Police Department for decertification of former Officer David Gary Henry. A motion to go forward with decertification was made by Commissioner Walraven and seconded by Commissioner Jiles. Motion carried.

ITEM XIV: Item fourteen was a request from the Little Rock Police Department for decertification of former Officer Tiffany L. Malone. A motion was made by Commissioner Holladay to go forward with decertification and was seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. Motion carried.

ITEM XV: Item fifteen was from the Arkansas State Police requesting decertification of former Trooper Seth Higginbottom. Commissioner Wilburn made the motion to go forward with decertification and the motion was seconded by Commissioner Walraven. Motion carried.

ITEM XVI: Item sixteen was a request from the Pine Bluff Police Department for decertification of former Officer Maurice C. Hopkins. Commissioner Holladay made a motion to go forward with decertification and was seconded by Commissioner Jiles. Motion carried.

ITEM XVII: Item seventeen was a request from the Conway Police Department requesting decertification of former Officer Daniel Teague. Commissioner Wilburn made the motion to go forward and was seconded by Commissioner Holladay. Motion carried.

ITEM XVIII: Item eighteen was a request from the Walnut Ridge Police Department requesting decertification of former Officer Shaun Allen. A motion to go forward was made by Commissioner Walraven and seconded by Commissioner Jiles. The motion carried.

ITEM XIX: Item nineteen was from the Arkansas State Police requesting decertification of former Trooper Clinton R. Eubanks. Commissioner Holladay made a motion to go forward and seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. Motion carried.

Commission Meeting Minutes April 10, 2014 Page 4

ITEM XX: Item twenty was a request from the Department of Community Correction requesting decertification of former Officer Michael German. Commissioner Holladay made a motion to go forward and was seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. Motion carried.

In the Director's Report, Mr. Jones asked Danny Hickman, Director of Jail Standards to come forward and give a report on the proposed changes to the Jail Standards Manual. Jail Standards feel the new updates and training requirements are necessary to upgrade the level of all Criminal Detention personnel. The Arkansas Jail Administrators Association asked that the Commission recognize and support these proposed changes. The Commission gave a vote of full support.

ALETA Instructor Bernie Mosley gave a presentation on the new forms for canine registration and gave the reasons for the revised forms. Instructor Mosley also gave a report on the certification of Narcotic Detector Dog Certification, Explosive Detector Dog Certification and Patrol Dog Certification. The Commission voted to accept all the new changes.

Director Jones gave a report to the Commission in regard to the ACADIS System and training. Also an update was given in regard to the Parole and Probation Training stating that an additional class has been scheduled. He gave an update on the remodeling and facilities upgrade.