COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT STANDARDS AND TRAINING

COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

JULY 18, 2013

ARKANSAS LAW ENFORCEMENT TRAINING ACADEMY

The meeting of the Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training was called to order at 10:00 A.M. by Chairman Bob Harrison. Commissioners present:

Chairman Bob Harrison Sheriff Butch Morris Lt. Bobby Walraven Mr. Cecil Greene Sheriff Doc Holladay Mr. Alonza Jiles Chief Percy Wilburn Dr. James Golden Mr. Barney Reeves

Commissioner Absent:

Ms. Jami Cook

Others present: Director Ken Jones Deputy Director Fred Weatherspoon Deputy Director Brian Marshall Atty. Meredith Rebsamen, AG's Office Mr. Larry Robinson, Governor's Office Director Steve Shultz, BRTC-LETA David Williams, ASP Jason Curtis, Ashdown Wade Hodge, Hearing Officer Paulette Ward, ASP Jeff Whitlock, ASP Sue Albritton, Commission Secretary

The minutes of the February 19, 2913 meeting were approved with a motion by Commissioner Greene and seconded by Commissioner Walraven.

Commission Meeting Minutes July 18, 2013 Page 2

Item I: Item one was in regard to a request from the Arkansas State Police for decertification of former Trooper Dexter Holmes. A motion was made by Commissioner Morris to go forward with decertification and seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. The vote was unanimous.

Item II: Item two was in regard to a request from the Jonesboro Police Department requesting decertification of former officer Cody Lynn Coley. A motion from Commissioner Walraven to go forward with a decertification hearing was seconded by Commissioner Holladay. The vote to go forward was unanimous.

Item III: Item three was a request from the Grannis Police Department in reference to Brian Peters who resigned while the subject of an internal investigation. A motion was made by Commissioner Holladay to go forward and was seconded by Commissioner Morris. A unanimous vote to go forward was given by the Commission.

Item IV: Item four was a request from the Marion Police Department in regard to former officer Jerry Kelly who had been arrested and charged with DWI and possession of a controlled substance. Kelly resigned and the charge is pending. Commissioner Morris made a motion the Commission go forward with decertification and was seconded by Commissioner Wilburn.

Item V: Item five was a request from Cave Springs PD requesting decertification of former officer Stanley Young. Mr. Young had shown on his department log sheet he had worked when he actually had not. Commissioner Wilburn made a motion to go forward with decertification and it was seconded by Commissioner Golden.

Item VI: Item six was a request from the Benton Police Department for decertification of Christopher Goss for violation of numerous department policies; to include dishonesty or untruthfulness. A motion by Commissioner Holladay was seconded by Commissioner Wilburn to go forward with decertification.

Item VII: Item seven was from the Arkansas State Police in regard to former trooper Shannon Huitt. After a discussion of the matter, a motion was made by Commissioner Reeves not to go forward with decertification. A second was made by Commissioner Morris. The Commission voted not to go forward with decertification.

Item VIII: Item eight was a request from the Arkansas State Police in regard to former trooper Zachary Saxon. A motion to not go forward was made by Commissioner Reeves and seconded by Commissioner Walraven and was passed by the Commission with one opposing.

Director Jones gave a report on funding and progress on various projects. The Director presented the proposed new Rules of Certification of Canines and Canine Certifying Officials

Commission Meeting Minutes July 18, 2013 Page 3

and the changes to the Minimum Standards for Employment or Appointment or Continued Employment. After an explanation and discussion, the Commission voted to accept the proposed new rules with a motion by Commissioner Holladay and second by Commissioner Wilburn.

Attorney Meredith Rebsamen stated that a consent agreement had been reached with former officer Eric Krahmer. The Commission voted to accept the agreement. The meeting was adjourned at 10:25 A.M.