COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT STANDARDS AND TRAINING

COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

OCTOBER 9, 2014

The meeting was called to order at 10:02 A.M. by Chairman Bob Harrison. Commission members present:

Chairman Bob Harrison Sheriff Butch Morris Lt. Bobby Walraven Mr. Cecil Greene Ms. Jami Cook Sheriff Doc Holladay Dr. James Golden Mr. Alonza Jiles Chief Percy Wilburn Mr. Barney Reeves

Others present:

Director Ken Jones Atty. Meredith Rebsamen, AG's Office Brian Marshall, OLES Deputy Director Fred Weatherspoon, Deputy Dir. ALETA Mr. Larry Robinson, Governor's Office Sue Albritton, Commission Secretary Bobby Lacefield, Ashdown Police Department Rev. Michael German Dr. Joyce Martin Lt. Shawn Fullington, Bryant PD Chief Mat Kizer, Bryant PD Chad Brown, ACC Terri Ratcliff, ACC Mandy Gilis, ACC Todd Crowson, Bryant PD Mike Ramsey, Bryant PD Wade Hodge, Hearing officer Darren Williams

A motion was made by Commissioner Green to accept the minutes of the last meeting and seconded by Commissioner Holladay. Minutes accepted. Commissioner Morris was reconized for his years of service on the commission and his upcoming retirement.

Commission Meeting Minutes October 9, 2014 Page 2

Item One: Item one was to set the dates for the upcoming year. The dates set for 2015 were; Thursday January 8th, Thursday April 9th, Thursday July 9th and Thursday October 8th with a motion by Commissioner Wilbur and seconded by Commissioner Walraven. Motion passed unanimously.

Item Two: Item two was a request from the Jefferson Sheriff's Office for decertification of former Deputy Samuel Baker. Commissioner Holladay made a motion to go forward with decertification and was seconded by Commissioner Walraven. Motion passed.

Item Three: Item three was a request from the Jefferson County sheriff's Office for decertification of former Deputy Randy Jackson. Commissioner Walraven made a motion to go forward with decertification and was seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. Motion passed.

Item Four: Item four was a request from the Ft. Chaffee Public Safety Department for decertification of former Officer Dustin Reding. A motion to go forward was made by Commissioner Holladay and was seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. Motion passed unanimously.

Item Five: Item five was a request from the Lonoke County Sheriff's Office for decertification of former Deputy Steve Morgan. A motion to go forward was made by Commissioner Walraven and was seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. Motion passed with one Commissioner recusing.

Item Six: Item six was from the Drew County Sheriff's Office for decertification of former Deputy Steven Mitchell. Commissioner Wilburn made a motion to go forward and was seconded by Commissioner Golden. The vote to go forward was unanimous.

Item Seven: Item seven was a request from the Lonoke County Sheriff's Office for decertification of former Deputy Jack Fitzhugh. Commissioner Wilburn made a motion to go forward and the motion was seconded by Commissioner Holladay. Motion passed.

Item Eight: Item eight was a request from the Arkansas Parks and Tourism for decertification of former Officer Donna Spaght. Commissioner Holladay made a motion to go forward with decertification and his motion was seconded by Commissioner Morris. Motion passed with one opposing.

Item Nine: Item eight was a request from the Ft. Smith Police Department for decertification of former Officer Naaman Adcock. Commissioner Morris made a motion to go forward with decertification and was seconded by Commissioner Wilburn. Motion passed.

Item Ten: Item ten was a request from the Alexander Police Department requesting decertification of Officer Michael Sawyer. After a discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Wilburn not to go forward with decertification. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Holladay. The vote not to go forward was unanimous.

Item Eleven: Item eleven was from the Arkadelphia Police Department requesting decertification of Officer Johnny Whittle. After a discussion a motion was made by Commissioner Reeves not to go

Commission Meeting Minutes October 9, 2014 Page 3

forward with decertification. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Walraven. The vote not to go forward with decertification was unanimous.

Director's Comments: Director Jones presented to the Commission the proposed new schedule for the upcoming new year to increase the Basic Police Training Course to (13) thirteen weeks. This is to include the Standardized Field Sobriety Testing Training. Mr. Jones handed out the new week's schedule and gave a report on the responses form various agencies across the state with positive feedback. A motion was made by Commissioner Wilburn and was seconded by Commissioner Walraven to accept the new Thirteen Week Course. The Vote was unanimous. Director Jones also reported on the Acadis System which is now in use at the academy and the Standards Office and stated that some improvements had been made in various areas of the program. He also gave reports on the continuing improvements at the academy and that the construction of the new berm was progressing at the projected pace and the completion date would be on target.

The consent agreement for decertification for former officers Daniel Teague and Cody Coley were heard and approved for both cases.