## CLEST Minimum Standards Precision Rifle Annual Qualification Course

**Paragraph I.** Law Enforcement personnel who have successfully completed a Sniper certification course approved by CLEST, and hold a position as a sniper with their respective departments, are required to qualify with the precision rifle a minimum of one time annually. Law Enforcement Agencies may choose to shoot the "Model Course of Fire" as outlined in paragraph III or construct their own course of fire ensuring all minimum tasks/standards are met as outlined in paragraph II. Agencies that elect to construct their own course must submit their course of fire to CLEST for approval 30 days prior to course instruction. A "Precision Rifle" is defined as any center fire rifle .223 caliber/ 5.56 mm or larger with magnified optical scope, capable of one-minute of angle accuracy at 100 yards. One-minute of angle is defined as the rifle's ability to repeatedly strike an intended target with a one-inch accuracy group at 100 yards from a bench rest or similar shooting position.

**Paragraph II**. Required minimum tasks/standards for the Arkansas Precision Rifle Qualification Course:

- 1. Qualification courses must be taught by a CLEST certified firearms instructor.
- 2. All Agencies will shoot a minimum of 10 rounds per course of fire.
- 3. Agencies must construct a timed course of fire that includes the following shooting distances and minimum rounds:

a.	25 yard line	Minimum of 2 rounds
b.	50 yard line	Minimum of 2 rounds
c.	75 yard line	Minimum of 2 rounds
d.	100 yard line	Minimum of 2 rounds
e.	Agency discretion	Minimum of 2 rounds

- 4. Time used to complete a 10 round course of fire may not exceed four (4) minutes. Additional time may be added for additional rounds fired in excess of 10 rounds not to exceed 45 seconds per round from distances of 100 yards or greater and not more than 22 seconds per round from distances of 75 yards or less.
- 5. All agencies will incorporate prone and kneeling positions.
- 6. The target scoring area will not exceed 7.5 square inches (target diagram provided below is approximately 7 square inches).
- 7. All shooters must score 100% to pass this course of fire.
- Form F-18 will be completed and submitted to CLEST upon completion of a certified course of instruction. Agencies will maintain firearms qualification records for employees that may be audited by CLEST at any time. Records will be maintained for the duration of the employee's employment plus 5 years.

## Paragraph III. Arkansas Precision Rifle Model Qualification Course

- I. Phase One (1 minute 30 seconds time limit)
  - a. 100 yard line, prone shooting, 2 rounds
    - i. Begin in the prone shooting position at the 100-yard line. Load 2 rounds and make ready. At the command of fire, shoot 2 rounds into the scoring area of the target. Each shooter will have a total time limit of one minute and thirty seconds to fire the 2 rounds. Phase One time begins at the command to fire and stops upon the last shot.
- II. Phase Two (2 minutes 30 seconds)
  - a. 75-yard line, prone shooting position, 2 rounds.
    - i. From the 100-yard line, the sniper will run to the 75-yard line, assume a prone position, load and fire 2 rounds into the scoring area.
  - b. 50-yard line, prone shooting position, 3 rounds.
    - i. From the 75-yard line, the sniper will run to the 50-yard line, assume prone position, load and fire 3 rounds into the scoring area.
  - c. 25-yard line, kneeling barricade shooting position, 3 rounds.
    - i. From the 50-yard line, the sniper will run to the 25-yard line and assume a kneeling barricade shooting position (simulated window), load and fire 3 rounds into the scoring area.
  - d. Phase Two time begins at the first command to run from the 100 yard line to the 75 yard line as outlined in bullet list "a" and stops upon firing the last round at the 25 yard line as described in bullet list "c."
  - e. Suggested Target, see below. Scoring area can be drawn over the appropriate targeted area of a face target.

## SNIPER SCORING AREA

