COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT STANDARDS AND TRAINING

COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

MARCH 10, 2021

ARKANSAS STATE POLICE HEADQUARTERS

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 A. M. Commissioners present:

Chairman Percy Wilburn
Vice Chair Doc Holladay
Capt. Stacie Rhoads
Mr. Thomas Marsh
Dr. James Golden
Sheriff Ron Brown
Sheriff Lafayette Woods
Mr. Barry Phillips

Absent:

Mr. Richard Wingard

Others present:

Jami Cook, DPS Secretary DPS Fred Weatherspoon, CLEST Deputy Director Brad King, CLEST Deputy Director Amanda Yarbrough, CLEST Attorney Kreasha Williams, Legal Services Specialist Sue Albritton, CLEST Admin. Assist. Trish Hendrix, Court Reporter Charles Moulton, Hearing Officer Joel Minor, WCSO Nolan Ahe, Washington County SO Howard Arceneaux, Mena Bonnie Willis, Mena Brock Swain, Piggott School District Aaron Midkiff, Piggott School District Chief Boyd Woody, Camden PD Mike Peters, Springdale PD

Gomez Zachary, Springdale PD

Commission Meeting Minutes March 10, 2021 Page 2

Robert Newcomb, Attorney
Megan Godfrey, State Representative
Nathan Clayton, Camden PD
Mrs. Clayton, Camden
Clint Gattis, Marked Tree PD
Jackie Ragan, Marked Tree PD
Tommy Stueart, Mena PD
Tod Cannon, Mena PD
Paulette Ward, ASP
Robin Gilford, ASP

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 A. M.

A motion to accept the minutes of the January meeting was made by Commissioner Marsh and seconded by Commissioner Holladay. Motion carried.

Item I: Item one was a request from the Piggott School District requesting to establish its own police department. Having met all the requirements, a motion was made by Commissioner Brown to grant the request and was seconded by Commissioner Woods. Motion carried.

Item II: Item two was a request from the Marked Tree Police Department requesting a waiver of the three-year rule for professional instructor. Commissioner Woods made a motion to grant the request and was seconded by Commissioner Marsh. Motion carried.

Item III: Item three was a request from the Little Rock Police Department for decertification of former Officer Eddie Seaton. Commissioner Brown made a motion to proceed to a hearing and was seconded by Commissioner Woods. Motion carried.

Item IV: Item four was a request from the Independence County Sheriff's Office for decertification of former Deputy Daniel Roach. Commissioner Phillips made a motion to proceed to a hearing and was seconded by Commissioner Marsh. Motion carried.

Item V: Item five was a request from the Van Buren Police Department for decertification of former Corporal Shane Ridenour. Commissioner Brown made a motion to proceed to a hearing and was seconded by Commissioner Holladay. Motion carried.

Commission Meeting Minutes March 10, 2021 Page 3

Item VI: Item six was a request from the Van Buren Police Department for decertification of former Officer Nicol Harvey. Commissioner Brown made a motion to proceed to a hearing and was seconded by Commissioner Phillips. Motion carried.

Item VII: Item seven was a request from the Alexander Police Department for decertification of former Officer Andrew Shenep. Commissioner Holladay made a motion to proceed to a hearing and was seconded by Commissioner Brown. Motion carried.

Item VIII: Item eight was a request from the Union County Sheriff's Office for decertification of former Officer Kevin Pendleton. Commissioner Holladay made a motion to proceed to a hearing and was seconded by Commissioner Woods. Motion carried.

Item IX: Item ten was a request from the Crawford County Sheriff's Office for decertification of former Deputy Ashley Crawford. Commissioner Holladay made a motion to proceed to a hearing and was seconded by Commissioner Marsh. Motion carried.

Item X: Item ten was a request from the Jefferson County Sheriff's Office for decertification of former Deputy Cody Musselwhite. Commissioner Phillips made a motion to proceed to a hearing and was seconded by Commissioner Holladay. Motion carried.

Item XI: Item eleven was a discussion to change CLEST Rules to allow Marshallese citizens to serve as law enforcement officers in the State of Arkansas. Following the discussion, the Commission agreed to support the change in CLEST Rules.

At the conclusion of the regular meeting, Decertification Hearings were held. Uncontested hearings were held for **Flint Stock**, **Eldon Hammer**, **and Dustin Johnson**. After hearing the evidence given, a motion to decertify all three was made by Commissioner Rhoads and was seconded by Commissioner Woods. The vote was unanimous. A hearing was held for **Howard Arceneaux**. After considering all the evidence presented, a motion <u>not</u> to decertify was made and seconded. Motion carried. A hearing was held for **Nathan Clayton**. After considering all evidence presented, a motion was made by Commissioner Holladay for decertification and seconded by Commissioner Brown. Motion carried. The hearings were presided over by Hearing Officer Charles Moulton and recorded by Court Reporter Trish Hendrix. A total of four (4) officers were decertified by the Commission.

Director's Report

At the conclusion of the hearings, Deputy Director Brad King gave the Director's Report on behalf of Director Cook. Deputy Director King updated the Commission on the status of the Task Force to Advance the State of Law Enforcement's legislative bill. He also reported that Director Cook attended the Arkansas Sheriff's Association Winter Conference, the Arkansas Association of Chiefs of Police annual conference, and an event hosted by the IACP.