COMMISSISSON ON LAW ENFORCEMENT STANDARDS AND TRAINING

COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

MAY 13, 2021

ARKANSAS LAW ENFORCEMENT TRAINING ACADEMY

Meeting was called to order at 10:00 A. M. Commissioners present:

Chairman Percy Wilburn Vice Chair Doc Holladay Mr. Richard Wingard Sheriff LaFayette Woods Mr. Barry Phillips Mr. Thomas Marsh Dr. James Golden Capt. Stacie Rhoads Sheriff Ron Brown

Others present: Jami Cook, Director Brad King, Deputy Director Fred Weatherspoon, Deputy Director Amanda Yarbrough, Attorney Kreasha Williams, Legal Asst. Sue Albritton, Admin. Asst. Trish Hendrix, Court Reporter Charles Moulton, Hearing Officer Brandon Smith, Mineral Springs Tia Marsh, Ft Smith Billy Lea, Mineral Springs Terry Robertson, Greenway W. F. McHaffey, Greenway Jonathan Lewis, Marion PD Paul Turney, Marion PD Chris Condery, Marion Danny Wilks, Paris Kelvin A Smith, Mayor Helena/West Helena Scott Gann, SEARK Steven Bloomberg, SEARK Kirk Harris, AGFC

A motion to accept the minutes of the March 10, 2021 meeting was made by Commissioner Holladay and seconded by Commissioner Woods. Motion carried.

Commission Meeting Minutes May 13, 2021 Page 2

Item I: Item one was a request from former Officer Chris Condery requesting a waiver of the remaining seven (7) months of the required 24-month waiting period before being eligible for law enforcement employment. The request was denied for a lack of a motion.

Item II: Item two was a request from former Officer Danny Wilks regarding his re-certification. A motion was made by Commissioner Holladay to deny the request and was seconded by Commissioner Woods. Motion carried.

Item III: Item three was an update from Attorney Yarbrough on recent litigation against the Commission.

Item IV: Item four was a request from the Mineral Springs School District to establish a police department for its school district. Commissioner Rhoads made a motion to grant the request and was seconded by Commissioner Marsh. Motion carried.

Item V: Item five was a request from the Helena/West Helena Police Department to allow former Officer Greg Williams to retake the Part Time Course and for an extension of time to complete the course. A motion was made by Commissioner Phillips to deny the request and seconded by Commissioner Brown. Motion carried.

Item VI: Item six was a request from the Saline County Sheriff's Office for the decertification of former deputy Jacob Dane. A motion to proceed to a decertification hearing was made by Commissioner Rhoads and seconded by Commissioner Phillips. Motion carried.

Item VII: Item seven was a request from the Saline County Sheriff's Office for the decertification of former deputy Lannie Reaves. A motion to proceed to a decertification hearing was made by Commissioner Woods and seconded by Commissioner Wingard. Motion carried.

Item VIII: Item eight was a request from the Crawford County Sheriff's Office for the decertification of former deputy Joshua Brown. A motion to proceed to a decertification hearing was made by Commissioner Phillips and was seconded by Commissioner Holladay. Motion carried.

Item IX: Item nine was a request from the Carroll County Sheriff's Office for the decertification of former deputy Scott Burleson. A motion to proceed to a decertification hearing was made by Commissioner Holladay and seconded by Commissioner Phillips. Motion carried.

Item X: Item ten was a request from the Ft. Smith Police Department for the decertification of former officer Jonathan Plank. A motion to proceed to a decertification hearing was made by Commissioner Brown and was seconded by Commissioner Phillips. Motion carried.

Commission Meeting Minutes May 13, 2021 Page 3

Item XI: Item eleven was a request from the Randolph County Sheriff's Office for the decertification of former deputy Alec Grooms. A motion to proceed to a decertification hearing was made by Commissioner Brown and was seconded by Commissioner Marsh. Motion carried.

Item XII: Item twelve was a request from the Prescott Police Department for the decertification of former officer Justin Babbitt. A motion to proceed to a decertification hearing was made by Commissioner Woods and was seconded by Commissioner Rhoads. Motion carried.

Item XIII: Item thirteen was a request from the Ola Police Department for the decertification of former officer Daniel Cartwright. A motion to proceed to a decertification hearing was made by Commissioner Brown and was seconded by Commissioner Phillips. Motion carried.

Item XIV: Item fourteen was a request from the El Dorado Police Department for the decertification of former officer Aaron Smith. A motion to proceed to a decertification hearing was made by Commissioner Rhoads and was seconded by Commissioner Woods. Motion carried.

Item XV: Item fifteen was a request from the City of Greenway to establish a City Marshall's Office. Commissioner Holladay made a motion to grant the request and was seconded by Commissioner Marsh. Motion carried.

Item XVI: Item sixteen was a request from SEARK College to establish a Department of Public Safety for the college. Commissioner Woods made a motion to grant the request and was seconded by Commissioner Wingard. Motion carried.

Following the regular business meeting, signed Consent Agreements by Jared Turner, John Fuentes, Shane Ridenour. Nicol Harvey, and Kristopher Arthur were presented to the commission for a final decertification vote. Commissioner Rhoads made a motion to accept the consent agreements and decertify all of the individuals and was seconded by Commissioner Woods. Motion carried.

Five Uncontested Hearings for Daniel Roach, Andrew Shenep, Cody Musselwhite, Larry Mangrum, and Kevin Pendleton were conducted. Commissioner Brown made a motion that the Finding of Facts and Conclusions of Order had been met. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Marsh. Motion carried. A hearing was conducted for William Cheers. After hearing all evidence presented, a motion was made by Commissioner Holladay to decertify and was seconded by Commissioner Phillips. Motion carried by a majority vote. The hearings were presided over by Hearing Officer Charles Moulton and recorded by Court Reporter Trish Hendrix. A total of eleven (11) Officers were decertified by the Commission.

Commission Meeting Minutes May 13, 2021 Page 4

Director's Report

Director Cook announced that Fayetteville Police Chief Mike Reynolds has been appointed to the Commission. His first meeting will be the July meeting in Little Rock. She announced that all commissioners will have updated photos taken for the website at the July meeting. She provided an update from the 2021 legislative session and reported that changes to CLEST Rules will be presented to the Commission at the July meeting. She reported that the DPS website is currently being updated to include a dashboard. CLEST will report the number of full-time law enforcement officers and the number of online course completions to the dashboard. She reported that she is currently serving on a national wellness curriculum development team and is continually researching grant opportunities to expand and improve the DPS wellness unit. She reported that she recently attended an event at the Fallen Police Officer Memorial, the Never Forgotten press conference, and the retirement ceremony for Game and Fish Commission Colonel Greg Rae. She also announced that she has been appointed to the American Rescue Plan funding steering committee.