MINUTES OF ARKANSAS STATE POLICE COMMISSION MEETING SPECIAL CONFERENCE CALL MEETING November 30, 2021

The Arkansas State Police Commission met for a Special Conference Call meeting on Tuesday, November 30, 2021 at 10:00 a.m. at the Arkansas State Police Administrative Headquarters, 1 State Police Plaza Drive, Little Rock, Arkansas.

MEMBERS ON CONFERENCE CALL:

Commissioner Neff Basore, Chairman Commissioner John Allison, Vice Chairman Commissioner Steve Edwards, Secretary Commissioner Jim Hinkle Commissioner Murray Benton Commissioner Ken Reeves

MEMBERS ABSENT: Commissioner Jeff Teague

STATE POLICE PERSONNEL ATTENDING ON CONFERENCE CALL: Colonel William J. Bryant Major Charles Hubbard Donna Humphries

Commission Chairman Basore called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

NOTIFICATION OF MEDIA:

The media was notified of this meeting on November 29, 2021 at 2:00 p.m.

Commission Chairman Basore open the meeting and stated I will turn the meeting over to Colonel Bryant. Colonel Bryant stated the purpose of the meeting today is we have selected eligible applicants for the upcoming 2022-A Troop School, and we need the ASP Commissioners approval.

Colonel Bryant stated the hiring process starts with the initial contact form being submitted, then ARPAT testing and written testing, the next step is the polygraph exam and a background check. Once the backgrounds are through the review process, the applicant goes before an Interview Board and then interviews with the Colonel. The eligibility list is then compiled from those who have completed the above processes successfully.

Colonel Bryant stated the eligibility list shows the name, sex, race, age, city of residence and assignment. Colonel Bryant explained the assignments are not set in stone, as they are decided based on agency needs, Troop Commanders recommendations, and applicant's "wish list". We try to place the applicant in the area of their request, however sometimes that may not happen.

Commissioner John Allison made a motion to approve and certify the 2022-A Eligibility List as presented by Colonel Bryant.

Commission Chairman Basore stated we have a motion, is there any discussion or questions? Commissioner Reeves stated the oldest one is 46, is that normal for someone that age to apply. Colonel Bryant stated he has a military background; his wife works at the State Crime Lab and after the processes he scored very well on everything.

Commission Chairman Basore asked how many of the applicants are certified? Colonel Bryant stated I do not have the exact number but approximately 10. Commissioner Reeves then asked what is certified? Colonel Bryant stated that means they have already been through the Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy and are a certified law enforcement officer but will still have to go through the ASP Troop School.

Colonel Bryant stated the break down on the applicants is 42 males and 4 females. There are 87% white and 13% minority and overall, the applicants include 37 white males, 4 black males, 3 white females, 1 Hispanic female, and 1 Hispanic male.

MINUTES OF ARKANSAS STATE POLICE COMMISSION MEETING SPECIAL CONFERENCE CALL MEETING November 30, 2021 – Page 2

Colonel Bryant stated once the eligibility list is approved, the applicants will be sent a conditional letter of hire and will then be scheduled for medical examinations and psychological examinations. We will lose some of the applicants through these examinations and I would be pleased to be able to start troop school with 40 or 41 applicants.

Commission Chairman Basore asked if there was any more questions or discussion. Commission Chairman Basore stated we have a motion by Commission Allison and with no more questions or discussion, he asked for a vote to certify the eligibility list of applicants listed below:

Zoey Baldwin Seth Arender John Bucher **Michael Cervantes** David Cunningham Blake Clason Jaxon Edwards Jeremy Elliott Ana Escamilla Alexander Fondren Samuel Futrell Adam Helm Michael Hollinger Michael Herring Joseph Killian Trevor Kiser Peter Kootz **Tanner Mathis** Audie McCollum Jessica McCord Zachary Means Caleb Miller Trevor Monk Shabby Moore Zachary Norwood Brandon Neal Ryan Pfitzner Cade Padgett Solomon Phifer Candice Pike Grant Pruitt Landan Reather **Devon Rorick** Tyree Sampson Sharieeq Shakurh Jackson Shumate Lance Smith Andrew Stewart Gavin Taylor Kelton Turner Trace Vrooman **Daniel Walcott** Jeffery Walker Christopher Weatherly Justin White Brandon Worley

All Commissioners voted in favor of certifying the eligibility list of applicants. Donna Humphries asked Commission Chairman Basore who seconded the motion? Commissioner Hinkle stated he seconded. Commission Chairman Basore stated under Robert's Rules of Order, since after the motion all Commissioners began discussing the eligibility list, no second was required.

Colonel Bryant thanked the ASP Commissioners for calling in today to certify the eligibility list. Commission Chairman Basore stated we will see everyone next Thursday, December 09, 2021 at 10:00 a.m.

Commission Chairman Basore stated with no further business for the ASP Commission, I adjourn the meeting, and the meeting was adjourned at 10:13 a.m.

Commission Chairman

Commission Secretary