COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT STANDARDS AND TRAINING

COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

JANUARY 13, 2022

ARKANSAS LAW ENFORCEMENT TRAINING ACADEMY

Meeting called to order at 10:00 A. M.

Commissioners Present:

Vice Chairman Doc Holladay Mr. Thomas Marsh Chief Mike Reynolds Mr. Barry Phillips Capt. Stacie Rhoads Mr. Richard Wingard

Commissioners absent:

Chairman Percy Wilburn Sheriff Lafayette Woods Dr. James Golden

Others present:

Director Jami Cook Deputy Director Fred Weatherspoon Deputy Director Brad King CLEST Attorney Amanda Yarbrough Sue Albritton, CLEST Admin. Asst. Chris Hankins, LETA Pocahontas Mark Mosier, LETA Pocahontas Lacey Roughton, UALR Brent Bradley, West Memphis PD Michael Curtis, Paris PD Jeff Brondhaver, Rogers Rick Evans, Huntsville Kenny Yates, Washington Co. SO Scott Montgomery, Perry Co. SO Billie McCormick, Perry, Co. SO Keenan Carter, Washington Co. SO Tim Helder, Washington Co. SO Boyd M. Woody, Camden PD

Commission Meeting Minutes January 13, 2022 Page 2

A motion to accept the minutes of the November 17, 2021 meeting and the November 19, 2021 special called meeting was made by Commissioner Phillips and seconded by Commissioner Marsh. Motion carried.

Item I: Item one was to discuss and approve the Board and Commission Expenses. A motion to approve was made by Commissioner Rhoads and seconded by Commissioner Phillips. Motion carried.

Item II: Item two was a request from Jeff Brondhaver to be recertified as a law enforcement officer under CLEST Rule 1034. A motion to grant the request was made by Commissioner Rhoads and seconded by Commissioner Reynolds. Motion carried.

Item III: Item three was a request from Michael Curtis to be recertified as a law enforcement officer under CLEST Rule 1034. A motion to deny the request was made by Commissioner Reynolds and seconded by Commissioner Phillips. Motion carried.

Item IV: Item four was a request from the Perry County Sheriff's Office requesting a waiver of the two-year period required by CLEST Rules for Deputy Billie Ann McCormick. A motion to grant the request was made by Commissioner Rhoads and seconded by Commissioner Marsh. Motion carried.

Item V: Item five was a request from the Washington County Sheriff's Office requesting a waiver of the Refresher Course requested by CLEST Rules for Deputy Darren Falslev. A motion to grant the request was made by Commissioner Rhoads and seconded by Commissioner Reynolds. Motion carried.

Item VI: Item six was a request from the West Memphis Police Department to withdraw the decertification request for former Officer Paul Gregory. A motion to grant the request was made by Commissioner Rhoads and seconded by Commissioner Marsh. Motion carried.

Item VII: Item seven was a request from the West Memphis Police Department for the decertification of former Officer David Kohl. A motion to proceed to a decertification hearing was made by Commissioner Reynolds and seconded by Commissioner Phillips. Motion carried.

Item VIII: Item eight was a request from the Little Rock Police Department for the decertification of former Officer Marcus Getter. A motion to proceed to a decertification hearing was made by Commissioner Reynolds and seconded by Commissioner Marsh. Motion carried.

Item IX: Item nine was a request from the Crossett Police Department for the decertification of former Officer Carrie Wells. A motion to proceed to a decertification hearing was made by Commissioner Phillips and seconded by Commissioner Marsh. Motion carried.

Item X: Item ten was a request from the Pulaski County Sheriff's Office for the decertification of former Deputy Antwan Jones. A motion to proceed to a decertification hearing was made by Commissioner Phillips and seconded by Commissioner Reynolds. Motion carried.

Commission Meeting Minutes January 13, 2022 Page 3

Item XI: Item eleven was a request from the Pine Bluff Police Department for the decertification of former Officer Christopher Sweeny. A motion to proceed to a decertification hearing was made by Commissioner Reynolds and seconded by Commissioner Rhoads. Motion carried.

Item XII: Item twelve was a request from the Franklin County Sheriff's Office for the decertification of former Sheriff Anthony Boen. A motion to proceed to a decertification hearing was made by Commissioner Rhoads and seconded by Commissioner Marsh. Motion carried.

At the conclusion of the regular meeting decertification hearings were held. Four (4) signed Consent Agreements were presented for: Christopher Bruno, Cody Barnett, James Snow, and Joseph Paull for a final vote. Commissioner Rhodes made a motion to accept the Consent Agreements and decertify the individuals. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Marsh. Motion carried. Four (4) Uncontested hearings were conducted for: William Prichard, John Little, Michael Coder, and Prince Bohannon. Commissioner Reynolds made a motion that the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law had been met. The Motion was seconded by Commissioner Rhoads. Motion carried. A contested hearing was held for Benjamin Opelt. After hearing all evidence presented, a motion was made by Commissioner Phillips that the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law had been met and to decertify. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Marsh. The motion carried by unanimous vote. The hearings were presided over by Hearing Officer Charles Moulton and recorded by Court Reported Trish Hendrix. A total of nine (9) officers were decertified by the Commission.

Directors' Report:

Director Cook announced that CLEST's 2021 Annual Report should be finalized by the end of January and will be distributed to Commissioners at that time. She announced that DPS's, including CLEST, budget hearings will take place next week and will include updates related to raises for CLEST law enforcement personnel and personnel in pay grades GS01-GS05. She announced that CLEST is currently finalizing plans for delivery of CIT, Jailer, and Coroner training for 2022 and is proud of the hard work of CLEST personnel in continuing to provide these valuable training opportunities. She reminded the Commission that the new CLEST rules went into effect on January 1, 2022 and announced that she hopes to have new Commissioner appointments soon.