COMMISSION ON LAW ENFORCEMENT STANDARDS AND TRAINING

TELECONFERENCE COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

JANUARY 18, 2023

ARKANSAS LAW ENFORCEMENT TRAINING ACADEMY

The Teleconference meeting was called to order at 3:03 P. M. by Chairman Percy Wilburn with the following commissioners answering roll call:

Chairman Percy Wilburn Vice Chair Doc Holladay Major Stacie Rhoads Sheriff Phillip Miller Sheriff Lafayette Woods Dr. James Golden Chief Mike Reynolds Mr. Thomas Marsh Mr. Barry Phillips

Commissioner not answering roll call:

Mr. Richard Wingard

Other participating in the conference call:

Mike Hagar, DPS Secretary Hugh Finkelstein, DPS Chief of Staff CLEST Deputy Director Fred Weatherspoon Amanda Yarbrough, DPS Attorney Kreasha Williams, DPS Legal Services Specialist Sue Albritton, CLEST Administrative Assistant

The purpose of the meeting was to discuss the Commission's responsibility pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated § 12-9-103 to make a recommendation to the Governor for an individual to serve as Director of the Division on Law Enforcement Standards and Training. Following discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Woods to recommend Hot Springs Police Department Chief Chris Chapmond as the new Director. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Marsh. Motion carried. Following the vote, the Commission entered executive session. No action was taken following the executive session. A motion to adjourn was made by Commissioner Rhoads and seconded by Commissioner Woods. Motion carried.