## HOW TO OBTAIN AN ARKANSAS ENHANCED CONCEALED HANDGUN CARRY LICENSE (ECHCL)

# Locate a Basic or Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License Instructor here:

https://chcl.ark.org/asplicense/chcl\_instructor\_search/

#### Locate the on-line application, forms and payment system here:

https://www.dps.arkansas.gov/law-enforcement/arkansas-statepolice/services-programs/concealed-handgun-carry-licensing/

## NEW APPLICANT AND U.S. ARMED FORCES VETERAN OR CURRENTLY SERVING

## Individuals who do not hold an Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry

**License** (are not transferring a license from another state) would:

- 1. Locate an instructor to teach the Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License class.
- 2. Take the basic **and** the enhanced training course (approximately eight (8) hours of instruction and live-fire proficiency qualification).
- 3. After successful completion of the courses the instructor will provide the applicant with a completed basic Concealed Handgun Carry License training certificate and an Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License training certificate (two separate training certificates).
- 4. (Online applications) Complete the new application (on-line) and receive a confirmation number. Take the confirmation number to a fingerprint livescan operator and the operator will electronically send your fingerprint scans to the AFIS section. Then e-mail (chclinfo@asp.arkansas.gov), fax (501)618-8555, or mail in a copy of the two training certificates. Or, send regular (not certified) mail to: Arkansas State Police, ATTN: CHCL, 1 State Police Plaza Drive, Little Rock, AR 72209.
- 5. (Mailed or walked in applications) Print the application form from website and fill out. Mail/walk in the completed application, copy of both training certificates and proper application fee (\$88.25 for 64 years of age and younger or \$63.25 for 65 and older, \$38.25 for U.S. Armed Forces veteran or currently serving). DO NOT MAIL CASH. Mail regular (not certified) mail to: Arkansas State Police, ATTN: CHCL, 1 State Police Plaza Drive, Little Rock, AR 72209. If walked in, a small additional charge (by the credit card company) will be made for the use of a credit or debit card. Once received and payment is verified, a fingerprint submission form will be sent to the applicant. Take the form (with confirmation number and name) to a livescan operator. The operator will then electronically send your fingerprint submission form back to our office.
- 6. **Do not submit** the "Add Enhanced Endorsement to Replacement License Request Form" and payment with a new license application.

## TRANSFER APPLICANT

#### Individuals who hold a Concealed Handgun Carry License from another

**state** (want to transfer the license to Arkansas and obtain an Arkansas Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License) would:

- 1. Locate an instructor to teach the Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License class.
- 2. Take the basic and the enhanced training course (approximately eight (8) hours of instruction and live-fire proficiency qualification).
- 3. After successful completion of the courses the instructor will provide the applicant with a completed basic Concealed Handgun Carry License training certificates and an Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License training certificate (two separate training certificates).
- 4. (Online applications) Complete the Transfer application (on-line) and receive a confirmation number. Take the confirmation number to a livescan operator and the operator will electronically send your fingerprint scans to the AFIS section. Then mail in a copy of the two training certificates and the original, current out-of-state carry license being transferred to our office. Send regular (not certified) mail to: Arkansas State Police, ATTN: CHCL, 1 State Police Plaza Drive, Little Rock, AR 72209.
- 5. (Mailed or walked in applications) Print the transfer application form from website and fill out. Mail/walk in the completed application, copy of both training certificates, the original, current out-of-state carry license being transferred and proper application fee of \$73.25. <u>DO NOT MAIL CASH</u>. Send regular (not certified) mail to: Arkansas State Police, ATTN: CHCL, 1 State Police Plaza Drive, Little Rock, AR 72209. If walked in, a small additional charge (by the credit card company) will be made for the use of a credit or debit card. Once received and payment is verified, a fingerprint submission form will be sent to applicant. Take form (with confirmation number and name) to a livescan operator. The operator will then electronically send your fingerprint submission form back to our office.
- 6. **<u>Do not submit</u>** the "Add Enhanced Endorsement to Replacement License Request Form" and payment with a transfer application submission.

# CURRENT ARKANSAS CONCEALED HANDGUN CARRY LICENSEE WHO IS OVER THREE (3) MONTHS FROM EXPIRATION OF THEIR LICENSE

## Licensee who holds a current Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry License

(their expiration date is more than three (3) months away) would:

- 1. Locate an instructor to teach the Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License class.
- 2. Take the enhanced training (approximately four (4) hours of instruction and live-fire proficiency qualification). After successful completion of the course the instructor will provide the applicant with a completed Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License training certificate.
- 3. Print the "Add Enhanced Endorsement to Replacement License Request Form" from the website and fill it out (must be notarized). Then mail in the Add Enhanced Endorsement replacement form, the enhanced training certificate; and the fee of \$15.00 (for 64 years of age and younger) or \$7.50 (for persons 65 years of age or older). DO NOT MAIL CASH Send regular (not certified) mail to: Arkansas State Police, ATTN: CHCL, 1 State Police Plaza Drive, Little Rock, AR 72209. If walked in, applications would need to have a credit card or a check (payable to Arkansas State Police). A small additional charge (by the credit card company) will be made for the use of a credit or debit card.

# CURRENT ARKANSAS CONCEALED HANDGUN CARRY LICENSEE WHO IS LESS THAN THREE (3) MONTHS <u>BEFORE</u> THE EXPIRATION OF THEIR LICENSE

#### **Licensee who holds a current Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry License** (the expiration date is less than three (3) months away) would:

- 1. Locate an instructor to teach the Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License class.
- 2. Take the enhanced training (approximately four (4) hours of instruction and live-fire proficiency qualification). After successful completion of the course, the instructor will provide the applicant with a completed Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License training certificate, or the instructor may submit that form directly to Arkansas State Police.
- (Online applications) Complete the renewal application (on-line) and receive a confirmation number. Put the confirmation number on the training certificate and e-mail (chclinfo@asp.arkansas.gov), fax (501)618-8555, or mail in a copy of the enhanced training certificate to our office. Send regular (not certified) mail to: Arkansas State Police, ATTN: CHCL, 1 State Police Plaza Drive, Little Rock, AR 72209.
- 4. (Mailed or walked in applications) Print the application form from website and fill out. Mail in the completed application, copy of enhanced training certificate and provide proper application fee of \$50.00. DO <u>NOT MAIL CASH</u>. Send regular (not certified) mail to: Arkansas State Police, ATTN: CHCL, 1 State Police Plaza Drive, Little Rock, AR 72209. If walked in, a small additional charge (by the credit card company) will be made for the use of a credit or debit card.
- 5. **Do not submit** the "Add Enhanced Endorsement to Replacement License Request Form" and payment with a renewal application submission.

# ARKANSAS CONCEALED HANDGUN CARRY LICENSEES WHOSE LICENSE IS EXPIRED LESS THAN SIX (6) MONTHS

# Licensee who holds an Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry License that is expired less than six (6) months would:

- 1. Locate an instructor to teach the Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License class.
- 2. Take the enhanced training (approximately four (4) hours of instruction and live-fire proficiency qualification). After successful completion of the courses the instructor will provide the applicant with a completed Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License training certificate, or the instructor may submit the form directly to ASP.
- (Online applications) Complete the renewal application (on-line) and receive a confirmation number. Put the confirmation number on the training certificate and e-mail (chclinfo@asp.arkansas.gov), fax (501)618-8555, or mail in a copy of the enhanced training certificate to our office. Send regular (not certified) mail to: Arkansas State Police, ATTN: CHCL, 1 State Police Plaza Drive, Little Rock, AR 72209.
- (Mailed or walked in applications) Print the application form from website and fill out. Mail in the completed application, copy of enhanced training certificate and provide proper application fee of \$65.00. DO <u>NOT MAIL CASH</u>. Send regular (not certified) mail to: Arkansas State Police, ATTN: CHCL, 1 State Police Plaza Drive, Little Rock, AR 72209. If walked in, a small additional charge (by the credit card company) will be made for the use of a credit or debit card.
- 5. **<u>Do not submit</u>** the "Add Enhanced Endorsement to Replacement License Request Form" and payment with a renewal application submission.

# ARKANSAS CONCEALED HANDGUN CARRY LICENSEES WHOSE LICENSE IS EXPIRED OVER SIX (6) MONTHS

Persons who hold an Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry License that is expired more than six (6) months would start over as a new applicant. (see above). **NOTE:** You must hold an Arkansas Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License to obtain the privileges under Arkansas law for an enhanced license. Persons who hold an enhanced license issued from another state will not have the same privileges as the Arkansas enhanced license, but the enhanced non-Arkansas license will be honored as a basic Concealed Handgun Carry License.

**NOTE:** Adding the enhanced endorsement to the Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry License does not extend the license period, the expiration date will remain the same.

**NOTE:** The enhanced endorsement training is not required to be completed again unless the enhanced license is revoked or permanently expired. Live-fire at renewal of an Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry License and Enhanced Concealed Handgun Carry License is still required.