## ARKANSAS STATE POLICE (ASP) NEW CONCEALED HANDGUN CARRY LICENSE (CHCL) APPLICATION INFORMATION

## PLEASE PRINT AND FILL OUT APPLICATION FROM THE ARKANSAS STATE POLICE WEBSITE:

 $\frac{https://www.dps.arkansas.gov/law-enforcement/arkansas-state-police/services-programs/concealed-handgun-carry-licensing/$ 

Paper applications must be completed in ink, however typewritten applications are preferred. **Incomplete or Illegible documents could lead to denial of the application.** Additionally, giving false, inaccurate or incomplete information on the application packet could result in license denial and/or criminal charges.

The applicant for an Arkansas concealed handgun carry license must submit the following items to the ASP:

1) A properly-completed Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry License Application form (preferably on-line) indicating **New Application**. Please make a copy of the application for your records. You will receive a confirmation/authorization number for your records if you apply on-line. If you choose to mail-in your application, the application form can be obtained from your instructor.

## 2) The following fees apply to applications submitted:

- 64 years of age and younger new application fees are \$88.25\*
  - 65 years of age and older new application fees are \$63.25\*

You can pay on-line or in person at ASP Headquarters in Little Rock with a credit card. If you mail in your application, you may send a check or money order payable to ARKANSAS STATE POLICE. **Do not send cash**. **All fees are NON-REFUNDABLE**.

- 3) Applicants are also responsible for obtaining a complete, classifiable set of fingerprints through livescan submission by a livescan operator. It is strongly suggested that fingerprinting be accomplished by a trained fingerprint technician, either through your local law enforcement agency or a private fingerprinting business from the listing of fingerprint livescan operators. We will provide the fingerprint submission form after the application, training certificate, and fees are sent into our office (see below).
- 4) A properly completed **training certificate** from a firearms safety instructor who is registered with the ASP. The application must be received by this office or completed online within six (6) months of the training date. Timely receipt from the six (6) month training date is determined by the date asp received it, not mailing or postmark date.

Submit application by mail to: **Arkansas State Police, ATTN: CHCL Section, 1 State Police Plaza Drive, Little Rock, AR 72209.** You may also deliver your application packet to Arkansas State Police Headquarters at Interstate 30 and Geyer Springs Road (Exit 133) Little Rock.

5) Once the application is received and payment is verified, a fingerprint submission form will be sent to applicant. Take the form (with confirmation number and name) to a fingerprint livescan operator. The livescan operator will then electronically send your fingerprint scans to the AFIS section. Then e-mail, fax or mail a copy of the fingerprint submission form back to our office.

\*\* YOUR FIREARMS SAFETY INSTRUCTOR MAY ASSIST YOU WITH QUESTIONS ABOUT THE APPLICATION PROCESS OR YOU CAN E-MAIL ANY QUESTIONS TO CHCLINFO@ASP.ARKANSAS.GOV