EPCRA Section 313: Toxics Release Inventory (TRI)
The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) is Section 313 of the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA). This law requires regulated facilities and federal installations to submit reports annually to both DEQ and the EPA describing chemical releases and waste management activities for over 600 toxic chemicals.
If a facility meets all three of the following criteria, they must report annually to the TRI Program by July 1:
- If a facility engages in manufacturing, electric power generation, commercial hazardous waste disposal, solvent recovery, or serves as bulk petroleum terminals. For a complete list of TRI-covered NAICS codes, click here.
- The facility has the equivalent of at least 10 full-time employees
- Processes, manufactures, or uses at least one TRI-listed chemical at or above the reporting threshold.
Beginning in the 2014 reporting year, EPA no longer accepts paper submissions. If your facility must report to the TRI Program and you need guidance on electronic reporting, click here for additional assistance.
Frequently Asked Questions
What should I do if my facility is required to report?
- Once you’ve determined whether your facility meets all three reporting criteria, gather information on all the TRI chemicals managed during the calendar year.
- Register a new user account or sign-in to the EPA’s Central Data Exchange (CDX) to complete the required chemical reporting forms using TRI-MEweb.
- Verify that your certifying official has certified the completed TRI forms and submit by July 1
Are there any fees associated with reporting under TRI?
- The filing fee schedule for the State of Arkansas TRI reporting is as follows: the fee is $300.00 for the first reported chemical and $50.00 for each reported chemical thereafter, up to a ceiling of $1,000.00 per facility/location.
- Payments may be made on-line at OTC GovPay or a check may be mailed to:
Arkansas Division of Emergency Management
Attn: TRI Reporting
Bldg 9501 Camp Joseph T. Robinson
North Little Rock, AR 72199
If I submit my TRI report through TRI-MEweb will it automatically be submitted to my state?
Yes. Arkansas participates in the TRI Data Exchange (TDX) Program. Facilities that use the TRIMEweb application will automatically submit their TRI report to the DEQ when they submit annually to EPA.
Contact us or call ADEM at (501) 683-6700 for assistance.