Where is Central ALETA located?
Central ALETA basic training is conducted at Camp Joseph T. Robinson in North Little Rock, Arkansas.
Where do I stay during basic training at Central ALETA?
Open barracks style lodging is available, on a limited basis, at no cost to Central ALETA students. Please contact Joe Duboise for information and availability.
Does Central ALETA provide meals to basic students?
No. Meals are not provided by Central ALETA. There are several meal options to choose from at Camp Robinson.
Can I attend the Academy and just pay the expenses myself?
No. Attendance, at the Central Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy is restricted to people who are employed by a law enforcement agency or admitted through the Veterans to Law Enforcement Program.
What is the Veterans to Law Enforcement Program?
The program allows qualified veterans to attend the course without being employed by an agency. A veteran must have served at least six months active duty and meet other state and program requirements. Payment is the responsibility of the student however; most students have been successful at using Veterans Administration Education Benefits to pay the fee. The fee covers all costs for tuition, lodging, meals, and other supplies for the thirteen week course. Please contact Central ALETA for additional information and how to apply.
How old do I have to be to become a police officer?
The minimum age to be employed by a law enforcement agency is 21 years of age. The Minimum Standards for Employment or Appointment by a law enforcement unit are outlined in CLEST Regulation 1002.
How long is the Basic Training Course?
The Basic Police Training Course is 13 weeks.
What is the maximum age for employment as a law enforcement officer in Arkansas?
The Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training does not have a maximum age limit.
What academic average do I have to maintain in order to successfully complete training?
In order to successfully complete training, a minimum academic average of 70% must be maintained.
What happens to students who fail an exam?
If a student fails to achieve the minimum grade (generally 70% or higher for some subject areas) on a course exam, the student is allowed to take a re-test. Failure to achieve the minimum grade on the re-test will result in dismissal from the Academy.
If I fail academically/firearms during Basic Training, can I come back and try again?
Regulation 1005 (f) states: If an officer fails to satisfactorily complete the required training in a total of nine (9) months from the original date of employment or appointment, he shall not be eligible to be retained as a law enforcement in this State. Reappointment or reemployment as a law enforcement officer will be considered only after the person has been separated from law enforcement for at least twenty-four (24) months. Upon re-appointment or re-employment, an officer would be eligible to begin a new probationary period. Should the officer fail to meet the minimum training requirements a second time, he or she will not be eligible for certification as a Full-time, Part-time, Auxiliary or in any other law enforcement officer position.
If I get sick/injured during basic training, do I have to drop out?
This would depend on the seriousness of the illness or injury. Students attending Basic Police Training are required to participate in Physical Fitness, Defensive Tactics, Practical Exercises and Firearms Qualification. Should an illness or injury prevent the student from satisfactorily passing in these areas, it may be recommended that the department withdraw the student and allow them to return at another time to complete their Basic Training.
What equipment is needed to attend?
A list of equipment will be sent to you and/or your agency prior to your arrival for basic training.