Can I attend the Academy and just pay the expenses myself?
No. Attendance, at the Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy, is restricted to people who are employed by a Law Enforcement Agency or participating in the Veterans to Law Enforcement Program.
What is the Veterans to Law Enforcement Program?
The program allows qualified veterans to attend the basic academy without being employed by an agency. A veteran must have served at least six months as active duty and meet other state and program requirements. Payment is the responsibility of the student, however; most students have successfully used their Veterans Administration Education Benefits to pay the fee. The fee covers all costs for tuition, lodging, meals, and other supplies for the thirteen week academy. Please contact NW ALETA Executive Assistant Dianne Smith for additional information and how to apply.
How old do I have to be to be a police officer?
The minimum age to be employed by a law enforcement agency is 21 years of age. The Minimum Standards for Employment or Appointment by a law enforcement agency are outlined in Regulation 1002.
How long is the Basic Training Course?
The Basic Police Training Course is 13 weeks.
What is the maximum age for employment as a law enforcement officer in Arkansas?
The Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training does not have a maximum age limit.
Where do I stay during basic training?
NW ALETA does not currently offer lodging accommodations on site. Your employing agency may contact local hotels should you need lodging accommodations. Please contact Dianne Smith for information on surrounding accommodations.
What academic average do I have to maintain in order to successfully complete training?
In order to successfully complete training, a minimum academic average of 70% must be maintained.
What happens to students who fail an exam?
If a student fails to achieve the minimum grade (generally 70% or higher for some subject areas) on a course exam, the student is allowed to take a re-test. Failure to achieve the minimum grade on the re-test will result in dismissal from the Academy.
If I fail academically/firearms during Basic Training, can I come back and try again?
If an officer fails to satisfactorily complete the required training in a total of nine (9) months, plus any extensions of time granted by the Commission, from the original date of employment or appointment, the officer is not eligible to be retained as a law enforcement officer until the person has been separated from law enforcement for at least twenty-four (24) months. Upon re-appointment or re-employment, an officer would be eligible to begin a new probationary period. Should the officer fail to meet the minimum training requirements a second time, he or she will not be eligible for certification as a Full-time, Part-time, Auxiliary or other law enforcement officer position.
If I get sick/injured during basic training, do I have to drop out?
This would depend on the seriousness of the illness or injury. Students attending Basic Police Training are required to participate in Physical Fitness, Defensive Tactics, Practical Exercises, and Firearms Qualification. Should the illness or injury, prevent the student from satisfactorily passing in these areas, it may be recommended that the department withdraw the student and allow them to return at another time to complete their Basic Training.
Where is NW ALETA located?
NW ALETA is located at: 3424 South Downum Road Springdale, Arkansas 72762
What equipment is needed to attend?
A list of equipment will be sent to you and/or your agency prior to your arrival for basic training.